spring blossoms

27 Apr

clematis1

It seems like everything is beginning to take on color.  I love that about spring.  Dogwood tree are blooming, my crabapple tree, and now the perennials in my flower beds are opening up. 

One of the objectives for my gardens has been to gradually transition from mostly annuals to perennial flowering plants.  Last year I planted the clematis vine (picture) and this year it is already a bunch of pods that are beginning to open. 

 

 

side-of-fence1The area by my fence contains this clematis and a dianthis which I planted two years ago.  This year, this is how it came up.  NO work on my part, I did nothing and I think the flowers are so beautiful.  I would love to have all my gardening be this easy. 

dsc_01031

This is another variety of dianthus.  It is not as hardy as the one above and I think it is only biennienal.  (I have these across the front of my house)   Once again, they just came up like this.  I didn’t have to do anything.  You just have to love it!!!  

 I had been concerned that the megabucks I invested last year in rubber mulch may have been a bit extravagant, but it has held up really well.  I have only had to pull weeds around the perimeter of the beds and they were much easier to pull up than last year.   So, I think over a period of 3 years, it will prove to be more cost effective and less labor intensive.  It has taken me so much less time to get things cleaned up after winter.    

In other areas of I have hostas that are poking up. In some places they are already really big.  I have bulbs and more perennials that I hope to get out soon.  Spent Saturday afternoon trimming shrubs.  Yes, I still use the hedge trimmer that requires manual empowerment.  I DO NOT allow the hub to do this because the last time, I ended up with a bush that looked like pacman.  It is still trying to grow and fill in that gap.  Trimming shrubs required the use of muscles that don’t typically work when sitting at my computer all winter.  Needless to say, Sunday morning I was hurting. 

But, today is Monday, muscles have made amazing recovery, I am back at the computer in the office, but looking forward to getting out the gardening gloves and starting again this afternoon.

More pics to come.   

 

 

One Response to “spring blossoms”

  1. Theresa May 10, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    The flowers look awesome. Dianthus is one of my favorite plants. I have them all over the place. Can’t get the Clematis to grow. Bought my Aunt one last year and I kid you not the purple blooms are as big as dinner plates this year.

    Hope you have a very Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

