Wii Fit frenzy……….

30 Dec

Wii Fit Image 2Wii Fit Image 1Wii Fit Image 3

The top contender for present of the year for us is our new Wii fit game.  After a long hunt and search process (I refused to pay the on-line price after the beginning of December), my sister managed to snag one for us.  The gift was actually to my hubbie, but secretly, I really was the one that wanted it. 

We have such a competition raging here.  Right now, my youngest is the reigning king of soccer and a whiz at the ski jump,  and I am the queen of the hula hoop. 

I have managed to get in 3- 1 hour workouts (and don’t even think for a minute that because it is a game, that it doesn’t give you a work out).  I begin with balance exercises, move on to aerobic – my favorite is the advanced step – peak with a basic run – cool down with the step again and then finish off with 2-3 yoga exercises. 

Tonight I practiced the “tree” position in yoga and almost fell on my face!  It took a little while to figure out which muscles I need to use to maintain balance (I was trying to use my foot and ankle, but that’s not it🙂 . I actually ended up looking more like that position in the Karate Kid. You know the one – standing on the rock on the beach, yeah, that was me!

Last night we had some friends over and it was so much fun to create the little characters and then watch each other attempt the different activities.  We cheered for one another and laughed at one another – the most fun I’ve had in a while.

Hopefully, the effort will reap rewards of improved fitness, which is something I badly need.  Using the regular Wii game, my first wii age was, gulp,   80!  Shock  After the first 24 hours passed, I improved until I was, OMG 61! 

Well, today I did the Wii fit test and I was 47 Way Too Happy .  (yes, I am older than 47 so this is good!)  Criteria for this assessment involves, balance, agility, speed, BMI, and who knows what else. And, the test is not the same every time, so you can’t practice up for it. 

 I don’t know how significant it actually is, but it made me feel better and want to push harder to keep going and I suppose that was my actual purpose for wanting the thing.

Anyway, as the new year approaches, I have goals set, time frame for accomplishing the goals set and have taken the first step forward.  Now, lets see if we get any results.  Whether I meet the goals or not, I am certainly having a lot of fun trying and it has given us another activity that we can come together to do as a family.  Now, that’s worth $89 wouldn’t you say?

Leave a Reply

