When you can see what’s behind you.

11 Dec

There is a hymn which contains the words “may all who come behind us find us faithful”.  These words have always penetrated my heart.  I guess I relate them primarily to how I want my children to see my life.  It is a prayer of mine that as they and their generation come behind us, may they be able to see where we have been faithful and may they imitate that faithfulness. 

Today I had the opportunity to listen to a lady who is at a very difficult place in her life.  I know how difficult it is because I was in that exact same place  a year ago.  Hearing her describe in nearly the exact same words, the despair and hopelessness that I felt a year ago caused me to remember the dear sister who came to me and listened and called and checked on me – sometimes just with a look.  She had gone ahead of me in her experience, and could relate to the difficulty of my experience. It made a huge difference for me.

Well, that was my opportunity today.  The lady I spoke with told me today that she found comfort in the fact that I had gone through that awful time.  I think it gave her hope.  She has the same decisions to make that I had to make and some of it will be hard.  I have often  gained the courage I needed to move on,  by seeing others who have already  gone that way and have found their victory.  I hope that in some way, I helped her to find that extra courage and make one more step toward her victory. 

So, that brings me to why the words of this song mean so much.  I can sometimes look behind me and see those traveling where I have already been.  Sometimes its a friend, sometimes a family member, usually my children.  I pray that when they look ahead, they will find me faithful.  I pray that as we all look ahead to whatever is in our path, that we will remember He who is always faithful .

2 Responses to “When you can see what’s behind you.”

  1. bellissimanh December 11, 2008 at 11:33 pm #

    It is truly a way to survive our suffering… if we can see the greater good and glory in it. The Lord really does comfort us in our trials and tribulations so that we will be able to in turn, minister to someone else in a simliar situation. God bless you for being willing to be the hands and feet of Jesus to your friend…. and God blessed me by your ability to recognize the purpose in your trial.🙂

  2. mamarosi December 13, 2008 at 7:12 am #

    Cindy, I just wanted to say that I LOVE the new look here, and that I have carried around my book that you gave us all day today with January 1 open…I’ve read parts of it to several people as the opportunity presented itself, and have clung to its words in day of some hardship. Praise God though, for His strength that keeps us keepin’ on in good times and in bad. Love you so much, girlie.

Leave a Reply

