My boys will be home soon.

25 Nov

I know, they were just here yesterday, but, I am still looking forward to them being home for the extra long holiday weekend.  In preparation, hubbie and I went to the store to buy all the seasonal goodies that are typical at our house. 

Their favorites include: 

Coca Cola in the little glass bottles. 

Sister Schubert yeast dinner rolls.

Potato chips with ranch dip. 

Honey wheat bagels. 

Pancakes. 

Moutain Dew and Doctor Pepper 

Chocolate cake (a special request) 

Brown rice (yes, they both love brown rice) 

Frozen pizza, so we can have a pizza and movie night while they’re here. (They prefer frozen over hubbie’s fabulous homemade – go figure) 

Thursday morning – 9am (my sister in law will be here sometime around 9:30!)  The event: our traditional Thanksgiving morning breakfast – location – our house! I don’t know how many years we have done this, but its become a custom and the kids squawk if we mention not doing it.  The menu will include: 

Breakfast casserole 

fried eggs (for those who don’t like the casserole)

Hashbrown casserole 

Bacon  Sausage Country Ham

Homemade biscuits

Redeye gravy 

Sausage milk gravy 

Various kinds of muffins  

A cherry breakfast turnover thingy my sister in law makes. 

Juice, coffee,  etc., etc.  (can’t you just see the cholesterol rising here)

DJ has prepared a slide show of pictures from previous family gatherings, including a trip to Auburn for the seasons kickoff game.  After we have finished this huge breakfast, we will kick back wherever we can find a place (there should be about 20-25 people here) and watch the presentation.  The guys may go out and shoot some basketball or throw the football – the ladies will do dishes (whats wrong with this picture?).  We’ll hang out until early afternoon (no lunch after all that food) then the crew will break up and go have Thanksgiving dinner with the other families.  For the fifth year, my father’s absence will be very much felt.  How has the time moved this quickly???  I think of other families who will have empty chairs this year.  The pain never goes away, but it does become bearable.  There are so many things I am thankful for and I know that God’s lovingkindness is with us.  

So…….tomorrow it will be time to start cooking…..my boys will be home soon.

2 Responses to “My boys will be home soon.”

  1. goodbadandugly2 November 25, 2008 at 3:44 am #

    ooo ooo your menu sounds good…I am on my way!🙂

  2. Maggie November 25, 2008 at 7:05 pm #

    You all have a GREAT time! I’m looking forward to all the little ones this year! They are SO sweet!

Leave a Reply

