Sunday night blues…..

22 Sep

We’ve had an odd weekend.  Friday night, dinner with bil and sil and family.  College boy 2 came home, but 1 didn’t.  Saturday was Parents’ Day at WKU.  Original plan:  leave about 10:30ish, be there by noon.  Do some shopping, walk on campus, parents dinner on campus, then…..for joy, the FOOTBALL game.  After multiple delays, we got out of town around 1:45.  (This ticked me off because I had could have attended a lady’s day at one of the local churches – wonderful speaker coming) 

Okay, so I got over that, got my joy back and off we went.  In the car, on the way, I made the comment that I had my book for the football game.  Hubbie and Kid2 go WHAT!!!???  You AREN”T going to read a book again during the football game (I did this when we went to see Auburn). — Open yet another can of worms.– Sigh!  I caved and agreed not to pull out the book. 

It was fun to be back at my alma mater. I never would have thought I would be there with my children as students.  another sigh!   The game was so-so. WKU won by a big margin.  I’m happy for them.  We left in the third quarter to beat the traffic and to get home before it was too late.  Said goodbye to #1, #2 came with us. 

Sunday morning – church -so good to enjoy praise and worship, especially since I was in bed with a heat pad last Sunday.  Fun time during Sunday School, lots of laughs as we are coming to know the people in this class.

We asked for the members to share something interesting that other people might not know.  The best one was when one member shared that he could go for a week with no bath/shower, no deordorant and no stinky!  Well, that’s certainly…..um, interesting! 

The rest of the day was typical Sunday afternoon stuff, until time for my boy to head back to campus.  He hemmed and hawed and piddled around for an around.  Finally, we told him we wanted him to get back before it got dark.  He hugged me, hugged his dad, hugged me again and moved toward the car.  I walked over to say by.  He gave one more hug and got in the car.  

That’s when I saw it.  I still recognize the slight tremor of the bottom lip that means the tears are coming.  He turned his head–pulled out of the driveway and drove down the road.  I was the one left standing and crying. (note:  I am so thankful not to have a third kid to go through this with.) I hate Sunday nights right now. 

5 Responses to “Sunday night blues…..”

  1. Brittany September 22, 2008 at 7:28 pm #

    I know that drive away from home very well. Sundays were always tough after visting home or family visiting at college. They get better, but are never quite easy.

  2. Susan September 22, 2008 at 7:31 pm #

    I hated those Sundays so bad in my college days that I didn’t go back until Monday mornings! It did get better but I also had Richard at home and I missed him too!

  3. Melissa H. September 22, 2008 at 9:19 pm #

    Oh, don’t I know what he’s going through. I went through the worst time when I started college. Sunday nights were awful! I still have flashbacks when I watch football on Sunday evenings of my dad watching it and hearing the NFL music and knowing I needed to be getting back to school. I cried every single weekend at first! But, it did get easier. I settled into a routine and realized that it wasn’t forever. And, several years later, my mom told me that she cried more than once after I left because she knew I was upset. It will get better – it will just take time.

  4. Kimberly September 22, 2008 at 9:49 pm #

    You can do this!!!!

  5. Misty September 23, 2008 at 2:06 pm #

    Poor guy. I know that first semester was the hardest. I didn’t have a car at that time, so my parents had to drive me back and forth to UK for a while. It was so hard to see them leave and be in the dorm Sunday night.

    However, looking back, I’m glad I did that instead of living at home while going to school. I think it really made me an independent person. It will be good for your boys too. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

