By myself, but not alone

26 Aug

Today is a BEAUTIFUL day.  The weather is wonderful here.  I am preparing to begin a fitness program called Body for Life, designed by Bill Phillips. It’s not a diet, but a lifestyle and a lifestyle change is what I need.  If anyone is curious, check it out www.bodyforlife.com .   

 So….this morning I hit the trail to do the walking routine.  After that, home and to my backporch retreat.  I am finishing the final week of Patriarchs.  This study has been so wonderful and this week’s lesson, with Israel bestowing the blessing on each of his sons brought tears, especially as my two sons have embarked on a new season of their lives. 

As I was sitting there, eyes closed, just thinking about this family, these brothers, I felt the Holy Spirit speak to me in such a gentle, quiet way that I have to record it here so that I can go back and remember. 

I was thinking about the guys and remembering some funny stuff that has happened in their childhood and I heard this as distinctly as if it were spoken aloud. 

 “The joy they will bring in the years to come will be more than the joy of the years that have already come.” 

Was it an audible sound – no. Don’t even know that it was those exact words, but the general idea (and the words there do sound sort of Old Testamenty, right?)  Anyway…Did it speak to my heart – yes. It was simple.  No trumpets, no fanfare, no parting of the clouds, no mighty wind, no drama, just a sweet simple voice. But, a very real presence with the voice.  Knowing that I was not there, on that porch, alone.  It brought a sense of anticipation.  A sense of something to look forward to. A hope and a future, just what I needed.  Once again, his faithfulness overwhelms me – aways there, even when I don’t see it.  It’s His grace, His sufficiency. 

It’s Him!

  God, I praise you that you promise never to leave us or forsake us.  That although we are by ourselves many times, we are never alone.  I thank you for the right words at the right time –  for that still, small voice that is there, when we take the time to listen.  Blessed be your name! 

Now, for anyone not already doing it, get out there and soak in this glorius day!

      

One Response to “By myself, but not alone”

  1. Stacey August 26, 2008 at 5:35 pm #

    Just checked out the BFL site and since the last day to start is September 3rd, I think I’m going to do it, too. I need to go find the book.

    If you want a “buddy” to do it with. Let me know. I can always use encouragement and support.🙂

    I did lift weights this morning. Of course, I used VERY light weights because I’m scared of injuring myself after battling sciatic pain and low back trouble for a week or so now.

    Glad you enjoyed your morning. It has felt wonderful outside!

Leave a Reply

