……..joy comes in the morning!

25 Aug

Adapting is the name of the game

Learning to accept a “new” normal

Realizing that in the 20 years of child rearing, hubbie and I haven’t gotten lost

Being excited because everything is in the same place as it was last night

Not picking up pillows and quilts all over the living room

Not picking up towels all over the bathroom

Not hearing “SHUT UP” or “IDIOT” a single time this morning

Not having a mountain of dishes this morning (boys eat 24/7)

Not hearing, Mom, what did you do with my ________

Not hearing, Mom, I need money

NO competition for the bathroom this morning

Not having to think about supper tonight (hubbie’s in a meeting, I can eat what I want!)

Not having to wonder if the upstairs toilet got flushed

Realizing that the house is NOT too quiet, I can actually hear myself think – and someday soon, I’ll actually be ABLE to think again!

 

So….after yesterday and the teary goodbyes and phone calls (a little sadness in the voice) at bed time,  my evening lamentions turn to joy in the morning!!!!!!!

5 Responses to “……..joy comes in the morning!”

  1. Maggie August 25, 2008 at 6:50 pm #

    Amen to the joy! Amen to the celebration! Amen to the Thanksgiving! Amen to changing moods! Amen to emoticons! Amen to time to scrapbook. Amen to updated blogs! Amen to no shower and a ball cap all day! Amen and AMEN! (And, yeah, I still miss mine a lot in between, but then I remember to Amen!)

  2. Melissa H. August 25, 2008 at 8:48 pm #

    I’m so glad you’re feeling better today. I have a long way to go before my kids leave the nest (although I know it will be here before I can turn around twice), but I have experienced a lot of change in the last year since leaving the church where I grew up. I have shed many tears, and I still do from time to time. Just know that I understand how it feels to leave the comfort of what you’ve known for many years. Sometimes it’s so hard to step out of the box! Love you!

  3. graceisenough August 25, 2008 at 10:18 pm #

    It’s funny what you said about the toilet….we have a guest bathroom that C likes to frequent. And of course he NEVER flushes! Glad you found your joy this morning! LY

  4. Misty August 28, 2008 at 12:58 pm #

    So glad you’re found some joy in the morning! Change is certainly not easy, but it happens whether we want it to or not, and when we can settle in His joy, we find that we’re really ok after all.

  5. Theresa August 28, 2008 at 2:20 pm #

    Oh girl, you just wait. They’ll come home for the summer and you’ll be packing the car for them by the end of the vacation. You’ll miss them sure but you’ll learn to enjoy that quiet! If it gets too quiet I’ll send Randy or the dog over for a while.

Leave a Reply

