20 Aug

Happy Birthday to me!!!  Today, hubbie, College Boy #1 and I went on a shopping trip to buy back to college stuff and do some birthday shopping. The most memorable comment of the day was from my son who said, “Mom, why do you still have to get birthday presents?  Aren’t you getting too old!”  Well……..does he have a thing or two to learn.  I can only imagine what HIS first year of wedded bliss will be like if he doesn’t  catch on.  Thankfully, hubbie knows better than to respond to a comment like that.  He just graciously smiled and said, “Son, Mom nevers gets too old for presents”.  As sweet as he has been today and after a comment like that, he may just get a “present” himself later!   (pssst, don’t tell)

Now, back on track….we had a very nice lunch at Red Lobster, all the employees and the people at several other tables sang Happy Birthday.  Our waiter made my day by annoucing that I was 26 (hoping for a fat tip).  After that, we did Lifeway, The Mall, Hobby Lobby, back to Hobby Lobby again, Books-a-Million then home.  I had the opportunity to do a mini lesson in price watching with the college boy, because $60 is way too much for a pair of jeans when we need to buy 4 or 5 new pairs and $25-30 per wornout, t-shirt just won’t work.  We did hit some good sales and at Kohl’s when I used my credit card (yes, hubbie said it was okay) I got an extra 15% off. 

The only sort of down part of the day was at Hobby Lobby when the music was playing – for a short time, I thought I would cry from missing College Boy #2.  But, I got a grip and went on and was okay.  #2 had made me a card before he left and he called me this morning to say Happy Birthday.  Oops, don’t need to get going there too much.  Oh well……..it been a busy day, now home and gotta get to packing for Friday.  Check on me this time next week, we’ll be home alone– just make sure I’m not in a big puddle some where.

10 Responses to “”

  1. Kimberly August 20, 2008 at 2:46 am #

    How did I miss this one this year? I am sorry. Happy Birthday girlfriend, I love you.

  2. mamarosi August 20, 2008 at 2:46 am #

    Happy Birthday!!! I have thought about you several times today and couldn’t think of why…then I read your blog….OH!!! It’s your birthday! I’m sorry I forgot until you reminded me but you were on my mind today. Glad to hear that you had a nice day today! Love you!

  3. Stacey August 20, 2008 at 12:12 pm #

    Happy late Birthday!!!

    I’m so glad that you had a nice day.🙂

  4. Brittany August 20, 2008 at 1:50 pm #

    Happy belated birthday!

  5. Misty August 20, 2008 at 6:53 pm #

    Happy birthday!! I hope you had a great one. And nope, never too old for presents.🙂

  6. Susan August 20, 2008 at 9:17 pm #

    Happy belated birthday! I remembered on Sunday but I’ve been in Nashville at a customer meeting and didn’t have access to my computer! Glad to hear you had a great one! We are moving College Girl to WKU tomorrow. She’s ready and we’re ready too!!!

  7. Melissa H. August 21, 2008 at 3:03 am #

    Happy belated birthday!

  8. graceisenough August 21, 2008 at 4:41 pm #

    Happy birthday! Sorry it’s late.

  9. Theresa August 22, 2008 at 1:09 pm #

    Oh I missed your birthday, I’m sorry! I have been thinking about you this week, should have called one of the times I had you on my mind but since it was in the middle of the night while I was working I didn’t think you’d appreciate it!

    Hope you have an awesome weekend.

  10. Maggie August 24, 2008 at 1:00 am #

    Hobby Lobby helps me with any emotional crisis, that’s for sure! Happy Birthday!!!

Leave a Reply

