This day seems so strange.

5 Aug

This is the first time in 14 years that I have not had a child starting his first day back to school.  No buying school supplies with all the procrastinators at Walmart yesterday!  No kid bouncing in the back door this afternoon yelling “I’m home”.

Gotta get off that train of thought before I find myself in a puddle and I don’t feel like being in a puddle today.  

We will have our first day of school, just a bit later.  Both guys are in college this year, so we will have a significant first day.  My living room has a pile of dorm stuff and the closet upstairs has all the stuff we’ve already used.  This is such a different routine than getting my school list and finding all the goodies.  My day was spent with a friend and her three little munchkins in  the pool and inside afterwards watching and movie and just chillin.  I needed it and I think she did too and it just occured to me that I did not take a single photo.  Man, I am slipping – must be the weather.

Anyway, it seems that once school starts back, we’re on the fast track for the rest of the year and it zooms by soooo quickly.  I am NOT in zoom mode yet and don’t want to get there.    :?  Nevertheless…………………..

2 Responses to “This day seems so strange.”

  1. Misty August 5, 2008 at 10:07 pm #

    I remember being where your guys are, though it seems like a million years ago now. It WAS a lot different, because I was responsible for buying most of my stuff and the whole moving in thing felt so strange. I was terribly homesick that first semester, but it was really good for me too, and I’m sure it will be for your guys as well.

  2. Maggie August 5, 2008 at 10:39 pm #

    I think each year has a whole new “weird” for all of us somehow!

    All Moms should get special parking spots during this week or something.

Leave a Reply

