My place of summer solitude

21 Jul

Welcome to my back porch……….

Life at my house with three guys means that there is not much peace and quiet that goes on.  Teenage boys never cease to quit squabbling.  They are still in “establishing territory” mode.  Also, with three guys in the house, things are never done, picked up, or put away.  So, for me to have any sort of quiet time, I have had to find a way to get away from the aural and visual chaos.  That’s what my back porch is for.  It’s not one of those typical, porches you see in the deep south, dripping in blossoms, white wicker and southern charm, but its a place I enjoy.

 This summer I have sort of loosely gotten a routine of getting up, walking the trail, circle Micky D’s for a breakfast burrito and large iced tea (I know it kinda negates the walk, but at least I am up and moving), then home to the back porch with Bible and study book (currently The Patriarchs or Beth Moore’s living room series).  The weather, so far, has been reasonably mild enough for me to sit out there ( a good breeze is ususally blowing – sometimes with help from the ceiling fans).  I love to  listen to the birds chattering ( I know I would typically say chirping, but these little guys chatter!), see the butterflies, do my study and pray.  When I am able to get this into my morning, I am so, so, much better that day.  I pray that we would all be able to establish our place of solitude where we can escape and be with the One who longs for us to just come!

2 Responses to “My place of summer solitude”

  1. "Maggie" July 22, 2008 at 1:02 am #

    Your porch is always so warm and inviting. Thanks for this post. It makes us all want to get “our place” cleaned out and more suitable for His company! LOVE the rug…and the curtain outside is so neat!

  2. Misty July 23, 2008 at 12:54 am #

    Ok, someday when the kids are old enough not to trash up everything with crayons and spit-up, I’m coming over to get some design ideas🙂 We’ve got a hodge-podge house of mismatched stuff right now that I’m not upgrading until the kids are much older🙂

    Love all your pics!

Leave a Reply

