My word for this week

29 Mar

Thursday night in our small group, I challenged everyone to hear from God one particular scripture and abide in that word for the week.

Well, I got mine this morning and here’s what I got as I meditated on it. 

Ps 91:1 (I really need to memorize the book and verse)

 He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High
         Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

Some version says abide neath the shadow of His wings.  I like that.  The key words for me from this verse are “dwells” and “abide”.  As I thought about this I remembered a devotion that I had read once and these words were emphasized.

Dwell – to live or stay as a permanent residence; reside.

God wants to be our dwelling place – our permanent address.  He does not want to be our overnight stay (He’s not Super 8, even thought the light is always on). 

 He does not want to be our vacation home (just there until the good times are over).

He does not want to be just our storm cellar, although we can run to Him in times of trouble.

He wants to be our permanent address.  He wants us to move in, unpack our baggage, put on our pajamas, and abide (rest) in Him.  He wants to be our eternal dwelling place–our refuge.

When we can come to a place of dwelling in Him, then we are sheltered in the shadow of His wing.  That does not mean that we never feel the wind of the storm, or the rumble of the earthquake.  We will still experience the heat of His refining fire.  But through all that we can rest.  We do not have to fear.  We can have peace and know that our dwelling is secure, but only when He becomes our permanent dwelling place.

My prayer for today:  Lord, let me dwell only in you.  Let me abide in the shadow of your wings.  Let me know that what I see on a daily basis of this world will pass away, but you are forever!

Anyone who would like to take up this challenge, please post your Word on your blog and we can all be encouraged and exhorted by what God speaks!


 

3 Responses to “My word for this week”

  1. "Maggie" March 29, 2008 at 7:11 pm #

    “He wants us to move in, unpack our baggage, put on our pajamas, and abide (rest) in Him”

    Loved that! What an excellent blog post. I’m soaking in this one sister! You should do this often. I love hearing what you have to say about the verse.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thinking Award « M A G N A N I M I T Y - April 2, 2008

    […] This is the best challenge I’ve seen in a while.  Do it! […]

  2. The One Who Loves Me « M A G N A N I M I T Y - April 2, 2008

    […] challenge here this week to list a scripture God has laid on your heart and how it speaks to you.  Go there and […]

Leave a Reply

