Makes it all worthwhile…..

28 Feb

Well, if you haven’t heard already, the IRS is going to be sending out rebate checks beginning in May.  We have been flooded with questions.  Rebates will be available for persons who have nontaxable income such as social security, railroad retirement and VA benefits.  However, many of these persons haven’t had to file returns for a long time, but, to get in the data base, they must file a tax return.  Even in they are not required.

I made an executive decision (I get to do that occasionally) to do these particular returns for no charge.  I have taken a little criticism from some for this, but it is what I felt God was speaking.  First, most of these people could not afford ANY fee, regardless of whether it was a reduced fee or not.  Second, actually I guess it should be first, I really felt the Holy Spirit speaking to me to do this.  We have done a bunch of these returns and sometimes, it takes time away from our “paid” work.  One employee asked me if I regretted my decision.  I said no, not one bit.

Well, today, was the clincher for me.  A very poor little old lady was brought in to do taxes for the rebate.  All she had for income was a small amount of Social Security benefits, but it was enough (has to be at least $3000).  At first she couldn’t believe the government was really going to send her $300.  Then, she couldn’t believe we would do it for nothing.    When we were finished, she was given the papers to mail in with her envelope.  She dug around in her purse, but could not put together the money for a stamp.  I stepped out and said here I have one.  She started to cry.  It broke my heart.

I learned later, that this week all the money she had, including the change she could round up was a little over $3.  She had gone to the grocery and bought a loaf of bread and canned biscuits.  Her need was so great, that even a small kindness meant so much.

I felt so ashamed because I complain when I have such abundance.  I have so much more than I need, and this poor lady had so little.  God, I’m so sorry for my lack of gratitude.  I really pray that I will have more opportunity to share much more than I did today.  It was a humbling experience–makes the minor inconvenience worth while.

If any of you know anyone who qualify for this, but would not normally send in a tax return, please let them know and tell them we will help–no charge.    

9 Responses to “Makes it all worthwhile…..”

  1. Aaron Wakling February 28, 2008 at 4:30 am #

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Aaron Wakling

  2. Brittany February 28, 2008 at 4:42 am #

    whoo. that brought tears to my eyes. I know God will be blessing you!

  3. Theresa February 28, 2008 at 6:15 am #

    There is a huge need in our area, often going unnoticed, glad to see you doing something about it. You’re a sweetie.

  4. Stacey February 28, 2008 at 1:03 pm #

    That is so sweet. Thank you so much for sharing such a beautiful but sad story.

    This also reminded me to call my granny-in-law to make sure that she knows that she needs to file!

  5. "Maggie" February 28, 2008 at 5:06 pm #

    I pray God blesses your business for your generosity to our community.

  6. graceisenough February 28, 2008 at 11:32 pm #

    I’m sitting here with tears in my eyes. It is so sad that there are people living here with such needs that often go unnnoticed. We are so blessed and often take so many things for granted. Thank you for reminding me to be gracious for what I have instead of complaining about what I don’t have.
    I think it is wonderful that you are going to do those for free. You will be a blessing to many people! Love ya.

  7. Kimberly February 28, 2008 at 11:38 pm #

    ALL I KNOW TO SAY IS THANK YOU

  8. touchofglory February 29, 2008 at 5:04 am #

    I complain about my job, I complain that the house is dirty, I complain that the car has too many miles on it….I’m ashamed. Thank you God for a job that provides so well for my family, thank you for a house that provides warmth and shelter for my family, thank you for vehicles that take us wherever we need to go and for all of the many, many blessings that I take for granted every single day!

  9. mamarosi March 7, 2008 at 4:53 am #

    Girl, I just think you are wonderful! I know I’m a bit behind in commenting but I just had to say something about this, you are doing the hands and feet work of Jesus and I’m just in awe of you! Thank you for being there for those that cannot afford to file taxes and all the things that you do for others in our community, including me. I humbly thank you and Praise God for your friendship and sisterhood!

Leave a Reply

