Why do these things always happen when one of my BOYS is around??

20 Feb

If anyone asked me, I could write a book on embarassing moments.  Today would have been a chapter all its own.

I originally had a dr appointment in Evansville, so scheduled no appointments for today.  Kid #2 got up this morning an inch taller than he was last night, so he needed new pants.  Since I had the open time, we went shopping after he finished school today–sort of a mother-son (I say this affectionately) date.  We had supper at Shogun, quite the bonding time.

To get pants, we go to Kohl’s.  I had to go to the bathroom bad, so I made a b-line to the back of the store, parked my cart, got my purse and went in.  The restroom seemed empty and I VERY hurriedly ran into a stall to complete my task.  The door didn’t even close all the way, but I didn’t care—it was the lady’s room and no one else was in there.  So…..as I was taking care of business, I heard a sound and thought, “that sounds odd”.  I then exited the restroom stall and came face to face with a MAN!!!!!

My first thought was, you’re in the wrong bathroom,  UNTIL I caught the sight of a row of urinals out of the corner of my eye.

  THE MOMENT OF TRUTH

I almost panicked.  I say Oh, my god, I’m in the wrong one.  He kind of laughed and said the lady’s room is over there. (across from the mens).  Now, just let me say this in my defense.  AT WALMART THE LADYS ROOM IS STRAIGHT IN FRONT OF WHERE I WOULD PARK MY CART.  THIS IS A LEARNED RESPONSE. 

I made a quick exit hoping to vanish into a hole somewhere right outside the door.  But…….not to be.  There he stood,

Yes, what to my wondering eyes should appear, but my teenage son grinning from ear to ear. 

This always happens to me.  I have numerous times done the most stupid things of my life right when my children are paying attention.  You can no doubt imagine his response.  I heard about it ALL THE WAY HOME.

I am sure this juicy little story will be shared once his dad gets home.  I really hate being the only girl sometimes.

Cindy

11 Responses to “Why do these things always happen when one of my BOYS is around??”

  1. Susan February 20, 2008 at 2:51 am #

    Too funny!! I’ve almost done that before but caught myself before going in.

  2. "Maggie" February 20, 2008 at 4:36 am #

    Oh, man. You are going to provide quite the entertainment tonight. I drove into my closed garage door this week, so I can’t say much. I keep saying, “ShhhHH!” everytimes he starts to mention it to one of the kids. I still can’t believe I did that. I usually hit the opener on my way out of the house, and didn’t that day. I was worried about some tulips in the floor-board falling over as I was backing out, glancing down to check them. They didn’t fall over…wonderful.

  3. mamarosi February 20, 2008 at 6:30 am #

    You had me rolling! That was so funny, Cindy. I have actually done the same thing before…gone into the men’s room only to discover what a urinal really is. I didn’t know until that moment. Thank you for the giggles, they were not at your expense. I just couldn’t stop laughing. I needed that! =) Love you girlie!

  4. Kim February 20, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    Oh my word!!!! What a memory you created during your mother-son night.

  5. Stacey February 20, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    How funny! I’m glad you have a good sense of humor though to laugh about it!

    I have gone in a men’s restroom before but it is usually because the line for the women’s is too long. It’s my bad side coming out. 😉 Of course, you should have known it was the men’s by the SMELL! Men’s bathrooms just don’t smell as good as women’s. 😉

  6. Cindy February 20, 2008 at 5:22 pm #

    This one was really clean—no pee smell.

  7. Misty February 20, 2008 at 11:40 pm #

    Wow–a clean men’s room. Lucky you to have found it! 😉

  8. Kimberly February 21, 2008 at 2:26 am #

    You made me laugh just now after a really sad night. Thank you for sharing. Next you must share your decorating secret with Kohl’s. Put ivy in the urinals!!!!

  9. Cindy February 21, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    Good ideal, Kimberly

  10. Theresa February 21, 2008 at 10:13 pm #

    ROFL!!!! What a wonderful story, well okay, wonderful for us, not so wonderful for you.

  11. graceisenough February 22, 2008 at 2:13 am #

    I think you had a blonde moment…LOL. Sounds exactly like something I would do.

Leave a Reply

