Wonderful devotional

24 Jan

I received this email devotional and  todays was particularly good so I wanted to post it–especially since we are going to be starting the study on prayer.  I love this story.  Hope you enjoy.

We were the first ones to come upon the accident. My quick thinking husband, always good in an emergency, calmly took charge while we waited for the ambulance to arrive. I watched as a little boy was lifted from the wreckage.Feeling helpless and with a knot in my stomach I did the only thing I could do at that moment. I prayed for that little boy. I asked God to intervene in that young life and to spare him and heal him.Several years later I had my own two boys at swimming lessons. I chatted with one of the moms as she marveled out loud that her son was able to be in swimming lessons. She told me about the terrible accident he had been in and the extent of his injuries. As we talked I realized this was the little boy I had prayed for as I stood on the side of the road.

I told the mom I had been there… that my husband was the one who had helped her husband from the wreckage. I told her that I had been there praying and was so excited to see how God had been at work. She too believed in God and was thankful for the miracle of healing in her son’s life.

God positions His children in places where prayer is needed. Have you ever wondered why you came upon a desperate situation? Or found yourself along side someone at work who is going through great hardship? Or discovered a neighbor is battling a difficult circumstance in health, relationship or finances?

God positions His children to pray. He knows the ups and downs of every life. He knows when there is little or no influence of God in a life or a situation. He works on this earth through the prayers of His people so He puts His people where prayer is needed.

 “And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests”  (Ephesians 6:18).

Look around with fresh eyes today. Take note of the situations that come onto your radar screen as you walk through your day. Pray for those needs you become aware of. Even dare to tell someone you will be praying for them. Ask God for courage to offer a prayer out loud with someone when He presents the opportunity. It may be the very reason your life is in this very place today.

~Father in Heaven,

2 Responses to “Wonderful devotional”

  1. Stacey January 24, 2008 at 10:50 pm #

    Wonderful devotion!

  2. graceisenough January 25, 2008 at 1:15 am #

    Great devotion. Thanks for sharing. I am excited to start the new study too! I looked over Stacey’s shoulder a bit when you showed it to her on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

