Organization, HA!

11 Jan

I have been doing some study on temperment types, especially my own, to understand a little more of what keeps me ticking.  I have learned that across the board, I am sanguine—-no not penguin, SANGUINE.  This temperament type has a very real need for people—to talk to them, to be with them—even if home alone, the tv or radio needs to be on so that the perception of people is present.

Now, one of the things that sanguine temperaments do not naturally have is an organizational sense.  It can be learned, but does not come naturally—-yep that’s me. 

A few years ago for my birthday I got a Palm3.  At first it was a fun little gadget.  But when it came down to really using it to organize my life I found it to be a bit frustrating.  First of all, it had to constantly be charged.  I’m not even good at keeping my cell phone charged.  (Do you realize how much stuff we use regularly that has to be charged???? What would happen if one day we couldn’t.  Would the world, like, just stop???)

Anyway, so now my Palm is buried under a pile of stuff on my table at home.  I have returned to my roots and got a Franklin planner for Christmas.  That’s right, plain old pen and paper.  Never needs charging.  Doesn’t require a password. Doesn’t need a stylus, just a plain old pen or pencil.  Hubbie also bought the tote (I call a purse) to match.  Very snazzy looking-its red, my fav. 

So, we’ll see which one wins out in the end.  Grassroots or technology??????  What do you prefer?

8 Responses to “Organization, HA!”

  1. Kimberly January 11, 2008 at 9:03 pm #

    Definitely old school for me. I like to write it down. Helps my memory too!

  2. Kim January 11, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    Give me a calendar anyday over a gadget!!! But truthfully, I am not good at using either one!!!

  3. graceisenough January 11, 2008 at 9:47 pm #

    If I didn’t have my trusty planner, I don’t know how I would make it. I definitely need paper and pencil…I’m technology challenged.

  4. "Maggie" January 11, 2008 at 9:51 pm #

    I learn best when I employ several different learning styles. I put it on my iGoogle desktop calendar (which I never look at again), then I write it in my Franklin (which I usually only look at once a month), then I make daily lists and look at them only once. But, I usually remember if I keep writing things down.

    Wow…I like everything off, no music, no TV when I’m home alone…what does that make me, a dead penguin? 😀

    I’ve done that test before and it was helpful, but I can’t remember what I was. I think I’m a mix, but melancholy was high, a huge surprise to everyone who knows me, including my husband!

  5. mamarosi January 12, 2008 at 2:48 am #

    Hey Cindy, I am also partly sanguine and also phlegmatic…which doesn’t sound so appetizing but it really rang true for me too. I did a test online which LP told me may not be accurate. I need to do one at his office too. Anyway, I’m pen and paper if it tends to get done. If I do it electronically, I don’t seem to keep up. Pen and paper is just easier. I’m keeping lists now on the fridge and it helps alot!

  6. Misty January 12, 2008 at 3:07 pm #

    I just use whatever big calendar I received for Christmas to write things down for the whole year. I leave it right in the kitchen next to the stove and grocery list and I can just look in it every day and write things down easily.

  7. liminallounge January 13, 2008 at 7:04 pm #

    hi. i just stumbled upon your blog randomly (i hit the “next” arrow because i was looking for a random site just to see someone’s use of photos) and when i saw the banner picture, which is the same as mine, and then saw the tag cloud (christian life, nature, photos, travel) i felt at home. i did a bit of reading and was encouraged by your joy. i’ve just moved from the US to Dubai and am missing home and not feeling particularly joyful. your blog was a blessing. thanks. beth

  8. Cindy January 13, 2008 at 9:30 pm #

    Welcome Beth. Please feel free to drop in anytime. I glad you enjoyed the blog.
    Cj

Leave a Reply

