Selah…..for real.

16 Sep

Well, we hear about it, we know it happens, but we never believe it will happen to US or anyone WE know.  But this week, many of us waited, hopeful, praying, believing, –for a dear sister to hear the ominous news that her biopsy revealed breast cancer—–my dear 30 something sister.   The news had me stunned for a long time, no emotion, no feeling, just a need to act.  To do something, anything, to help, thinking if I DID do something it would change the outcome—-make it go away……….it didn’t……

She calls……come over now…….parents and children have been told, now time to comfort.  As best as one can,  start driving………listening to Travis…….words: I am a stranger in this place, this world is not my home……………………….then the words that trumpeted in my ears…..”if thats what it takes to know you more”.   My prayer changed that moment.  I prayed, “God if that’s what it takes for her to know YOU more, then we will ride out the storm with her”.  Then the Still Small Voice spoke–“I will draw her into a holy place and when she comes out, she WILL know me more and the Glory of God will be revealed through it”.  Whew……finally the emotion flooded, volumous tears, sobbing, crying in a voice not my own…..I pulled off the side of the parkway and PAUSED (selah??? do you think).  I waited until I was empty, then called for prayer support so I could continue on.  I  reached her home.  We cried, we talked, I held her close, we hugged, we prayed.  I know God has empowered her to walk this path and He has the journey already mapped out.  We will be there to hold her up, wherever the coming days take her.  We call upon Him who created her, to bring the miraculous, in whatever form He chooses to bring it.  We will stand in the GAP.  She will not be alone, we will carry her, we will hold up her arms while she gains victory, we will share her burdens—-and then turn them to the Father.  We will wrap our love around her and her family, because we know they have their own fears to overcome. 

She is stong in the Spirit. 

She is mighty in Him.

She is a WARRIOR. 

She will overcome, because the One who has overcome lives in her.

She will be filled with life and that life will flow out to others. 

She HAS THE VICTORY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   

3 Responses to “Selah…..for real.”

  1. Stacey September 17, 2007 at 12:57 am #

    Thank you so much for sharing with us. What a scary but special day that you had being able to minister to such a sweet sister.

    I just know that God is going to heal her and use her in some powerful way.

    It is so comforting to have such awesome, faithful friends to call on in our time of need. I still remember how comforting it was to see you and DJ walk in the hospital when we were there with Shawn’s dad. We weren’t used to such a support system and I don’t know how we survived without it.

    Love ya!

  2. Joan September 17, 2007 at 11:29 am #

    Selah.

  3. mysticat2007 September 17, 2007 at 1:27 pm #

    I’ve often heard people say, “Why do such bad things happen to such good people when they’re so young?” I think it’s because God knows they can handle it and show His glory, whereas a person of little/no faith just isn’t ready.

Leave a Reply

