First Call home….

21 Aug

Last night we got our first call home.  This is how is went…..”I’m on my way back to the dorm, I’ll talk to you later.  Bye”.  I hung up and thought WHAT WAS THAT!!!!   Well, I can’t be too upset because I DID tell him that I just wanted to know he was okay.  He didn’t have to share a lot of details, just let us know he was okay.  That’s just what he did.  Hubbie got a similar call—(does he not know we live in the same house?) but a little more content that time.  When he gets home this weekend, I am certainly going to have to redefine a few things.  Nevertheless, College Boy seems to be having a good time because you could hear other kids in the background.  (Probably the reason for the abbreviated conversation).  Here at home the adjustment process proceeds.  It seems lonely at times.  There is not nearly enough bickering and arguing going on. I did not heard the word “stupid” all night.

 Making dinner last night and using just 3 plates was strange feeling.  Hubbie got up to go workout at almost 9:00 (his coping mechanism, but he’s not fooling me any!)  Wonder what today will be like?

CJ 

3 Responses to “First Call home….”

  1. Maggie August 21, 2007 at 2:28 pm #

    I HATE not putting a full set of plates down. always have, even when I was little and Dad had to go away to work…there are just supposed to be a full set of plates out. Probably why I wasn’t satisfied until we were back to “five”! So precious. Hope Day 1 will bring you joy!

    Maggie

  2. Kim August 21, 2007 at 2:45 pm #

    I was wondering how the “phone home” thing went. Too funny and so typical!!! So are you telling me there will be a point in time when I will actually MISS the fighting and bickering????? That, my dear friend, is hard to swallow right now!!! LOVE YOU!!!!

  3. Susan August 21, 2007 at 4:36 pm #

    Hey CJ! Glad to hear you heard from College Boy last night. Em told me she ran into him yesterday and gave him a big hug. She said he seemed to be doing well. It sure is different with a child being gone, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

