Morning Glory

7 Aug

Good morning everyone! 

This is the day that the Lord has made; we will rejoice and be glad in it!

I hope you ladies are having a good day, in SPITE of everything that could be happening to keep us from being glad and rejoiceing.  The first thing trying to steal my joy today is the darn heat.  It is ALREADY hot and the day isn’t even going full force yet.  August in the south!  This is typical I know, but I think the mildness of July had me spoiled.  Well……..like all other difficulties, this too will pass and soon we will have the crisp, cool days of fall—-my favorite time of the year. 

I wanted to share these pictures of my morning glory vine.  I planted these seeds earlier in June and it wasn’t anytime before I had a big, pretty vine—but no flowers.  😦   I waited and waited (usually mine have bloomed earlier), but at last we are beginning to see blooms.  There are lots and lots of buds and soon it will be covered with blossoms—even in this heat.  I had even begun to think I had a sterile plant.  I think that can actually happen???

 Anyway, this plant taught me that given enough sunshine, warmth,  water, the proper nutrients,  patience and time, we all eventually bear fruit!  So…. if anyone is feeling discouraged today,  reach down within, grab a handful of joy (whether you feel it or not,  it is a promise) claim it for your own because in due season we will each display the splendor of his majesty.

Have a wonderful day!!!!!!

CJ 

4 Responses to “Morning Glory”

  1. Susan August 7, 2007 at 2:40 pm #

    Thanks so much for the encouraging words! I needed that today. You are so right about patience and that was a very good illustration. I often struggle with patience! Your morning glories are beautiful! Mine are struggling right now. They have bloomed a little bit but not too much and they are looking pretty slim, yours are nice and lush!

    The heat is getting to me too….I am so ready for the cooler days. Have a great day everyone! SP

  2. SC August 8, 2007 at 12:47 am #

    I needed this today, too! Not only is the heat stealing my joy, but also 2 very cranky kids, a way too busy schedule today and a dead mouse. Well, really the dead mouse more than anything because my house is so small that I can smell it everywhere and I think it is in the wall and not somewhere I can get to it. 😦

    Ah well… this too shall pass!

  3. Cj August 8, 2007 at 2:17 am #

    OOOh SC: Anything but the mouse. I could handle anything but the mouse. I hate the smell of a dead mouse. I almost hope that you will come up on it so that it can be thrown out. I pray that your little angels get to feeling better really soon. I was thinking another pool day would be nice. Let me know when you’re up to it. Praying for you tonight.
    LOl
    CJ

  4. SC August 8, 2007 at 11:53 am #

    Thank you CJ. I am so thankful that I met you. I still remember Shawn wanting to go to your Sunday School class and having visions of what “sunday school” was from my upbringing… I would have missed out on so much if I hadn’t let him lead me!

    The dead mouse smell is still fairly strong. It is so sad because I cleaned the house super well on Monday before picking Haley up sick from school. Everyone is well, now, btw. I have tried: candles, Bath and Body Works spray, carpet powder stuff you vacuum up AND Febreze everywhere. We are probably going to all have an asthma or allergy attack from all of the chemicals I have used to try to disguise the smell. All I end up with is flowery dead mouse. 😦 I suppose it is the extreme heat. Poor little fella couldn’t take it either. Hopefully, the 100 temp will finally cremate him and he’ll cease to smell or I will find him one. 😉

    Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

