The Neighborhood…

15 Jun

Inspired by all of our church family who are attending the conference at Willow Creek… I decided to check out their website. What an awesome ministry they have! I have been particularly impressed with the neighborhood ministry. I have only browsed it, but apparently they have what are called “Neighborhoods”, where people who live somewhat close together, meet on a monthly basis. They meet for dinner at “the table” once a month and they have different goals for different parts of the year.

October-December was to develop community and get to know each other better.

January-March was to break out into small group bible studies and develop personal growth plans

April-May were for serving the community.

This sounds like such an awesome idea. I would love to see something like this implemented at our church(es). I think that our Sunday School classes are a similar idea and could be tweaked to have more “regular” functions similar to what they do at Willow Creek. I am so excited to hear what everyone has experienced this week at the conference/retreat and what they are going to bring back to us… especially after I was somewhat inspired after oh… only a few minutes on their website. haha!  Several days there must truly be an awesome experience!

3 Responses to “The Neighborhood…”

  1. SC June 16, 2007 at 2:07 am #

    I guess I should have added a big ole SC to my post. LOL!

  2. KV June 17, 2007 at 1:32 am #

    I knew it was you anyway!!!! Or at least I guessed. I quickly checked out the site the other day and will be going back when I have more time. I missed everyone Thursday!!!!

  3. SC June 17, 2007 at 2:49 am #

    We missed you too!!

Leave a Reply

