Rite of passage

19 May

Last night was graduation.  I thought you might like to see some pictures from this memorable time in our lives.  It feels really strange to be officially closing this chapter in my son’s life and I had really been concerned all week that I would make a major fool of myself by melting into a puddle.  I prayed that when we went I would go with a spirit of celebration and enjoy the event and have fun.  My graduation ceremony was so serious and emotional.  I wasn’t exactly prepared for how last night would be.  There was yelling and cheering and some guy with a fog horn.  There was silly string and the kids freely talked back in forth as they came in and waited for the presentations to begin.  They were not quiet, still and stoic like we were.  This was definitely more fun and I didn’t cry a single tear.  I really think I had my meltdown earlier last week when I was pressing my son’s gown for group pictures.  I hid in the bathroom and cried for what seemed like forever.  I guess that got it out of my system. 

So…….now on to the next adventure, the next chapter of life….a new page….a new beginning.  I am excited to see where the story of his life goes and as always, I’ll be there—his #1 cheerleader.  I love you son and am always, always proud of you.  Love,  MOM

Cj

2 Responses to “Rite of passage”

  1. KV May 20, 2007 at 1:39 pm #

    Celebrating this milestone with you in spirit. I really wanted to be able to come to the graduation to share in person but as you know, God had other plans for us. I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU DIDN’T CRY!!!!! Who are you and what have you done with my CJ????????? Anyway, hope you have a great vacation…I’m missing you already and it’s only Sunday morning. (you know how I hate it when you all are gone)

  2. SC May 20, 2007 at 10:22 pm #

    Thank you so much for sharing this with us. I had tears in my eyes this morning at church when they played the video with the seniors pictures. I would have been a mess at graduation! I hope you guys have a fun week! I’ll miss you!

Leave a Reply

