My thoughts…

13 Apr

Wow…I just sat down and read Ch. 3 in our book.  I’m sure some of you will feel the same but I think that chapter was written about me.  I had goose bumps and tears all the way through it.  This book reminds me of the Great Banquet in that just when you think it can’t possibly get any better…IT DOES!!!!!! 

Here are a few of the things that have really stuck out to me so far from the book:

1.  Living in a pit doesn not mean you are living a life of sin.  The two do not have to go hand in hand!!!  The enemy wants us to believe that if we are living in a pit than we must have some major sin in our lives that cause us to be there.  NOT TRUE!!!   I love the scripture given to us in the last part of Ch. 1…it is found in Psalm 40:2…”He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.”  I just love it when I come across the scripture that we get many of our praise songs from.  There are two songs that come to my mind from this scripture beginning with v.1-v.3.  The first is “Jesus, Lover of my Soul”.  To refresh your memory…it goes something like this…Jesus, lover of my soul, Jesus, I will never let you go.  You’ve taken me from the miry clay; set my feet upon a rock and now I know…The second song is “New Song Arisn” which in part comes from v.3 and also from Psalm 45:7.  Some of the words go…”A song of hope, a song of peace, the sound of liberation, the shout of victory.  The hymn of praise, the new song of God, many will see and fear and put their trust in the lord.”

2.  We can be thrown into a pit without doing one thing wrong.  Our lives are affected by our surroundings and sometimes those surroundings are NO FUN.  Our pits can be a result of anything from childhood abuse to death of a loved one to loss of a job to disease/illness…I could go on and on.  The point to be made goes back to #1 above…being in a pit doesn’t have to be the result of our personal sin…it can be caused by someone else’s sins or just life in general…things we can’t control.  Now that leads into a whole other issue….UNFORGIVENESS.  Harboring unforgiveness only makes our pit that much deeper.  We aren’t hurting the other person when we don’t forgive them.  Many times the other person doesn’t even know we are upset with them or just don’t care.  That unforgiveness hurts only one person…OURSELVES!!!  I don’t know about you but true forgiveness is so hard for me.  Just like I said last night…when I see someone I thought I had forgiven…all of those negative feelings come flooding back.  I am positive that this is an area that I need to work on.  Not only on forgiving others but mainly FORGIVING MYSELF.  Just like the book said…”Satan knows the hardest person for us to forgive will always be ourselves.”  That just gives me such a sick feeling…knowing that satan is having a party just because I can’t seem to forgive myself.  He sucks me into a pit every single day over this issue. 

3.  Now for Ch. 3…I have only read through it once ( I always read the chapters at least twice to allow the words to soak in) but the one thing that stuck out to me is that satan’s plan for us is destruction.  I will be the first to admit that he had come very close to achieving just that in my life on more than one occasion.  I PRAISE GOD THAT THROUGH THE SHED BLOOD OF JESUS CHRIST…DESTRUCTION IS NOT A POSSIBILITY!!!!!  No matter how much satan tries to convince us that we are destroyed…IT AIN’T GONNA HAPPEN!!!!!  This brought yet another song to mind…”I am pressed but crushed, persecuted not abandoned, struck down but not destroyed, I am blessed beyond the curse, for His promise will endure, that His joy’s going to be my strength”.  This song comes from II Corinthians 4:8-9.

I truly hope everyone is enjoying this book as much as I am.  God is going to bless us!!!  Sorry to go on and on but once I got started, I just couldn’t stop.  I love you all!!!!!   KV

4 Responses to “My thoughts…”

  1. BE April 14, 2007 at 2:22 am #

    I can’t wait to dive into chapter 3. Just the first few pages that I read Thursday was me, too. I feel that I’ve kinda been in a pit for the last few months. With everything that is going on in my life now and within the next month, I feel really disconnected. I know that I’ve done it myself. When I get overwhelmed, I withdraw. I’ve withdrawn from everything that is good for me. Small group Thursday was awesome and I’m so glad that I went and can’t wait for the next time and also to finish reading chapter 3. Thanks for the comments, KV. It really was an encouragement. BE

  2. KV April 14, 2007 at 1:57 pm #

    Just testing the comments…

  3. BE April 14, 2007 at 1:57 pm #

    I can’t wait to dive into chapter 3. Just the first few pages that I read Thursday was me, too. I feel that I’ve kinda been in a pit for the last few months. With everything that is going on in my life now and within the next month, I feel really disconnected. I know that I’ve done it myself. When I get overwhelmed, I withdraw. I’ve withdrawn from everything that is good for me. Small group Thursday was awesome and I’m so glad that I went and can’t wait for the next time and also to finish reading chapter 3. Thanks for the comments, KV. It really was an encouragement. BE

  4. Maggie April 16, 2007 at 8:18 pm #

    I’m reading this book off and on as I have time or need.

    I like the different types of pits she describes, some you are pushed into, some you fall into, some you walk into yourself.

    The only example I struggled with was poor Joseph. She said he didn’t deserve to be in his pit. Actually, no…no one “deserved” that! But, he did have a heck of a lot of wisdom to learn, and I think the pit taught him things he needed to learn in terms of grace/humility/servanthood that served him later to show the love and regard to his brothers they always needed from him.

    Great comments KV. You are on fire! Beth: that often happens in seasons like yours. God will refresh you when you are “finished”. Keep burning for Him! You are doing a terrific job. May you be filled richly.

Leave a Reply

