Jeremiah 29:11

23 Mar

‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.’ “ 

This is a scripture that I love to claim whenever I am experience times of uncertainty.  It’s another short, easy to memorize verse that packs a lot of punch.  A particularly good one to call on whenever things don’t seem to make a lot of sense.  It even corresponds with the theme song from the Easter pageant.  Read the beauty in these words:

Bow the knee.  Trust the heart of your Father, when the answer goes beyond what you can see.

Bow the knee.  Keep your eyes on heaven and believe the One who holds eternity. 

And when you don’t understand the purpose of His plan, in the presence of the King, bow the knee.

What a challenge!!!  Can we come to a place in our faith, where we can accept God’s will – no matter what that might be – and bow the knee? Blessed be His Name!

Love you all,

Cindy

2 Responses to “Jeremiah 29:11”

  1. KV March 23, 2007 at 8:07 pm #

    I love that scripture and never really had a grasp on it until we started this new book in Sunday School. I can vividly remember your superman reciting that passage and how deeply it spoke to my heart. It is one of God’s great promises!!! He only wants the absolute best for us. He wants us to prosper in every way and to always have hope. It’s odd that you chose the whole “trusting the will of God” thing to talk about. Team Kid lesson this week was about trusting the leadership of God even when it doesn’t make sense to us…just like Abram did in the OT when he packed up everything and took off to a new land. He listened, had strength, had courage, obeyed and never forgot to praise God and thank Him. Can you even begin to imagine what faith it took for Abram to follow God’s instructions???? God will never lead us down the wrong path…obeying God is ALWAYS the best decision. (I guess I am learning a thing or two in the Team Kid stuff…despite my grumblings)

  2. KT March 23, 2007 at 8:51 pm #

    I have this verse on a plague sitting on my desk. I look at it everyday and it continually brings to my mind that He is in control-always-no matter what. He has already thought out and planned my life. That’s a very comforting thought.

Leave a Reply

